Sunday, May 2, 2010

The Life Cycle of Hair

This is the part three of the mini course I took with curlyhairsalon on pH balance

This life cycle is comprised of three distinct stages:

Growth – This first stage is when the hair begins to grow called the anagen phase. This phase lasts between two to five years.

Rest – This is the stage where the hair follicle transitions into the "resting" stage also known as catagen. This resting time lasts for several days.

Loss – The time where we lose our hair, or our hair begins to fall out is the telogen phase. This phase lasts for three months. This is the time that we normally shed between 50 and 100 hairs per day. This is considered healthy hair loss.

Once the follicles begin to sprout new hair, this is when the cycle starts all over again. If you notice you are shedding more than 100 hairs a day, are finding hair in your sink or shower in excess amounts, consult a health care practitioner immediately. If your hair is thinning or balding the follicles are not replacing the hair that is shed. There may be several reasons for this whether it be a health problem, medication, genetics or other bodily irregularity it’s important to consult a health professional.


No comments:

Post a Comment

I will love to hear from you
Please comment below